Wednesday, February 29, 2012

What is Your Love Language? Part 1 of 5

Does your partner feel loved by you?  Do your children believe you love them?  How about you, do you feel loved?  If you are not speaking the same language with your partner, children, or others, then sincere feelings and true love can be easily missed!  That is because love and affection can be demonstrated in many different ways.  To some, words that affirm feelings and beliefs most strongly convey love. To others, physical symbols such as gifts speak loudest. 

According to Dr. Gary Chapman, there are 5 fundamental languages of love (Acts of Service, Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Physical Touch and Gifts).  We all have a primary love language--one that makes us feel loved more than any other. 

Following is Part One of the 5 love languages.  Which language speaks to your heart the most?  How about your partner, children, friends?  We often communicate our own primary love language to others and hope they will understand the love and affection we are trying to communicate.  For example, if my love language is words of affirmation and yours is quality time, you might not feel loved no matter what words I say to you if you do not feel I am spending enough time with you. 

Even if we are communicating our love and affection with all our heart,  and it is not in the language that our partner can understand, he or she may not feel loved.  If we will learn to speak one another's love language in the way that we can understand, we will experience the love we need from one another. 

Love Language 1:  ACTS OF SERVICE

This love language is about doing something that your partner would like you to do. 

Examples include: fixing the computer, washing dishes, ironing clothes, taking the dog for a walk, cooking, washing the car,  picking something up at the store

For information about Dr. Chapman's book: The 5 Love Languages, click here.

Well done is better than well said.  ~ Benjamin Franklin

Imperfect Action is better than no action. ~Giovanna Garcia

You see, in life, lots of people know what to do, but few people actually do what they know. Knowing is not enough! You must take action.  - Anthony Robbins


International Best Seller: The 10 Keys to Happy and Loving Relationships provides essential tools to help you understand relationships and how to make them more fulfilling, harmonious and successful. You will be taken on a personal journey to discover how you communicate the 10 key attributes of love as you relate to others. You will be empowered with tools to replace unhealthy patterns with new, healthy and effective ways to communicate, connect and love others. And you will discover how to communicate and experience genuine love and true happiness in ways that will change you, your relationships and your life forever!

Click here to look inside the book.

New Day Counseling is a family couples counseling center that provides professional counseling services for the entire family. We help parents, children, teens, families, individuals and couples. We offer couples therapy / marriage counseling, child therapy, adolescent counseling, anxiety counseling, depression counseling, divorce counseling, grief counseling, porn addiction counseling, substance abuse counseling. We also offer groups for anger counseling. Go to today for more information or call us at 248-649-8050. We are here to help, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Put an end to anger problems & regain control over your life today.
Anger management classes help for personal, court, and business. For more info go to or call 248-649-8050 to register today. * Anger management classes and/or individual anger counseling can be extremely supportive and helpful in equipping us with many tools for a better life.

<<< Back to Be Your Best Blog Home

No comments:

Post a Comment