Tuesday, March 20, 2012

What is Your Love Language? Part 4 of 5

If you want to make good use of your time, you’ve got to know what’s most important and then give it all you’ve got. ~Lee Iacocca

Lost wealth may be replaced by industry, lost knowledge by study, lost health by temperance or medicine, but lost time is gone forever. ~Samuel Smiles

Time is at once the most valuable and the most perishable of all our possessions. ~John Randolph

What is Your Love Language?

Does your partner feel loved by you? Do your children believe you love them? How about you, do you feel loved? If you are not speaking the same language with your partner, children, or others, then sincere feelings and true love can be easily missed! That is because love and affection can be demonstrated in many different ways. To some, words that affirm feelings and beliefs most strongly convey love. To others, physical symbols such as gifts speak loudest.

According to Dr. Gary Chapman, there are 5 fundamental languages of love (Acts of Service, Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Physical Touch and Gifts). We all have a primary love language--one that makes us feel loved more than any other.

Following is Part Two of the 5 love languages. Which language speaks to your heart the most? How about your partner, children, friends? We often communicate our own primary love language to others and hope they will understand the love and affection we are trying to communicate. For example, if my love language is words of affirmation and yours is quality time, you might not feel loved no matter what words I say to you if you do not feel I am spending enough time with you.

Even if we are communicating our affection with all of our heart, and it is not in the language that our partner can understand, he or she may not feel loved. If we will learn to speak one another's love language in the way that we can understand, we will experience the love we need from one another.

Love Language 4:  Quality Time

This love language is about giving your partner your time and focused attention.

Examples include: talking, enjoying an activity together with the focus being on being together and not on the activity itself, talking a walk, going out to eat and talking (just two of you)

For information about Dr. Chapman's book: The 5 Love Languages, click here.

Click here to see inside the book.

New Day Counseling is a family couples counseling center that provides professional counseling services for the entire family. We help parents, children, teens, families, individuals and couples. We offer couples therapy / marriage counseling, child therapy, adolescent counseling, anxiety counseling, depression counseling, divorce counseling, grief counseling, porn addiction counseling, substance abuse counseling. We also offer groups for anger counseling. Go to NewDayCounseling.org today for more information or call us at 248-649-8050. We are here to help, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Put an end to anger problems & regain control over your life today.
Anger management classes help for personal, court, and business. For more info go to newdaycounseling.org or call 248-649-8050 to register today. * Anger management classes and/or individual anger counseling can be extremely supportive and helpful in equipping us with many tools for a better life.

<<< Back to Be Your Best Blog Home

No comments:

Post a Comment